Trump adds Nigeria, six others to travel ban list


By Molade Adegbuyi


The President of the United State, Mr Donald Trump has added Nigeria to the growing list of countries placed on visa ban.


Nigeria is now among a new list of seven countries now on travel ban list which restricts the flow of immigrants and visitors into the United States.


According to the report made available to Iorhinoodua, Belarus, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan and Tanzania are now on the list of countries added to the travel ban list.

Sources said people from these countries may not necessarily face blanket bans on travel to the US, but could face restrictions on specific types of visas, such as business or visitor visas, world street journal has reported citing administration officials familiar with the development. However, this list is not final yet.

The initial travel which was announced by Trump administration on  January 27, 2017 just his seventh day in office as the president. This had sparked a major controversy then.

The ban may be connected to the failure of the affected countries to comply with security requirements, including biometrics, information-sharing and counter-terrorism measures,  According to a senior  administration official in Trump Government, the list included ‘any country that cannot vet their citizen going into US will face the risk of limitations on US immigration’.

According to the Reuters report, the move is likely to sour relations between the United States and the countries added to the expanded travel ban list. Nigeria, for example — Africa’s most populous country and largest economy. The country also has a large number of its citizens residing in the US.

Under the current version of the ban, citizens of Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria and Yemen, and some Venezuelan officials and their relatives are blocked from obtaining a large range of US immigrant and non-immigrant visas. Chad was previously covered under this ban, but was removed from the list in April 2018.

Citizens of the countries can apply for waivers to the ban, but such instances are  rare.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here