APC wins Kano, NNPP sacked as Tribunal asks INEC to recognise APC candidate

By Ologeh Joseph

The Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Kano has declared the All Progressives Congress, (APC) as the overall winner of the February 25 Governorship election

The Tribunal gave the judgment on Wednesday.

The three-man panel led by Justice Oluyemi Akintan-Osadebay held the proceedings virtually and transmitted from Miller Road where the Tribunal members were meeting.

The Tribunal ruled that Abba Yusuf’s election as the Kano State Governor was marred with malpractices.

The Tribuna therefore declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Nasir Gawuna as the winner of the election.

The Independent National Electoral Commission INEC was subsequently asked to withdraw the certificate of return earlier issued to Governor Yusuf.

INEC was then ordered to issue a fresh certificate to the APC candidate.

Irohinoodua was informed by a close aide of Yusuff that the NNPP will challenge the outcome of the ruling in a higher court.

Related Articles

Back to top button