Ikere Ekiti listed among other notable state capitals to host Nigeria U17 Football Tournament

By Samuel Ogunsona

Ikere Ekiti has been listed among other notable state capitals in Nigeria to host the inaugural edition of the youth league tournament slated to kick off in February 1, 2024.

The organizing committee listed five centers for the tournament (Lafia, Awka, Kaduna, Asaba and Ikere Ekiti).

In a letter signed by the chairman of the committee, Emeka Inyama, made available to Irohinodua said total of twenty teams will participate in the inaugural edition of the league, with five groups comprising four teams each.

Group A from the Kaduna zone consists of Doma United, Gombe United, Kano Pillars and Katsina United.

Group B Lafia zone is made up of Kwara United, Lobi star, Niger Tornadoes and Plateau United.

Group C the Asaba Zone Akwa United, Bayelsa United, Bendel Insurance, Rivers United

Group D, which is the Southwest zone (Ekiti) comprises Remo Stars, Shooting Stars, Sporting Lagos and Sunshine Stars.

However, the winner from each group will qualify for the championship playoff, where they will play another round-robin format in a centre to be decided later by the organisers.

Olukismet FC stadium got the license to host Group D stage of the NPFL U-17 youth league.

Related Articles

Back to top button