Breaking: President Bola Tinubu Elected As The Chairman of ECOWAS

By Samuel Ogunsona

The Nigeria President, Bola Ahmed Tinubu, has been elected as the new Chairman of Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).

He was elected on Tuesday at the 63rd ordinary session of the ECOWAS Authority of Heads of State and Government in Bissau, the capital city of the Republic of Guinea-Bissau.

Tinubu who joins other 15 Africa regional leaders to address memoranda on five pressing sub-regional issues is expected to be back to Nigeria on Monday.

Recall that former Nigeria President, Muhammodu Buhari, has also held the chairmanship position of ECOWAS between 2018-2019 during his tenure likewise some other Nigeria past President.

However, ECOWAS was established in Nigeria during the treaty of Lagos on May 28, 1975 with a mandate of promoting economic integration in all fields of activity of the constituting countries.

Member countries making up ECOWAS are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d’ Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Senegal and Togo

Related Articles

Back to top button