Newsbreak: African countries elect Fayemi Regional President

Newsbreak: African countries elect Fayemi Regional President

By Samuel Ogunsona

Several countries in Africa today name the Ekiti State Governor Dr Kayode Fayemi the new President of the Forum of Regions of Africa, FORAF.

Fayemi is currently the Chairman of the Governors Forum in Nigeria. He is expected to complete his second term of 4 years as the Governor of Ekiti State in October.

A source close to the meeting told Irohinoodua that hundreds of participants including of many Heads of Governments see Dr Fayemi as a potential Secretary General of the United Nations, (UN) that may stand in for Africa in no too distant future

The Director, Media and Public Affairs of NGF, Abdulrazaque Bello-Barkindo said Governor Fayemi was elected on Friday as President of the Forum of Regions of Africa in Saidia.

The election was held in the morning in the fringe city of Saidia in Oujda of the state of Casablanca in Morocco.

From 8th to 10th September 2022, the first edition of the Forum of Regions of Africa (FORAF) is taking place in Saïdia (Morocco), in the Oriental region. Under the High Patronage of His Majesty King Mohammed VI.
The Forum is organised by United Cities and Local Governments of Africa, UCLG Africa in collaboration with the Association of Moroccan Regions (ARM), the Council of the Oriental Region (CRO) and the Directorate General of Territorial Collectivities (DGCT) of the Ministry of the Interior of the Kingdom of Morocco.

The gathering, themed “The contribution of Regional Governments to the sustainable development and to the dynamics of integration of Africa”, is a concrete implementation of the decisions taken by the General Assembly of UCLG Africa during the 8th edition of the Africities Summit, held in Marrakech in November 2018, as stated by Mrs. Fatimetou Abdel Malick, President of UCLG Africa.
This Forum is bringing together for the first time the Presidents of regions, counties and federal states of more than 20 African countries that have a second level of decentralised territorial government, including Nigeria, South Africa, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Kenya, Madagascar, Mali, Niger, etc.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button