2027 AFCON: Nigeria loses bid to Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania

By Samuel Ogunsona

Nigeria and Benin Republic have lost the joint bid to host AFCON 2027 to Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania.

The announcement was made by the body after Nigeria Minister of Sports, Senator John Owan Enoh, accompanied by some of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) representatives arrived Egypt on Tuesday to bid for the tournament as host in 2027.

The decision was affirmed on Wednesday by CAF’s Executive Council members after giving out the host right to the East Africa nations.

None of Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania has ever hosted the Africa Cup of Nations before.

The Nigeria team (Super Eagles) who are three times winner of the tournament in 1980,1994 and 2013 respectively hosted the AFCON in 1980 where they emerged winner of the tournament for the first time after defeating Algeria 3-0 in the final before co-hosting with Ghana in the year 2000, lost to Cameroon on penalties in the finals.

Historically, Nigeria is one of the most successful countries in the continent.

Only three African countries have picked up the AFCON winners medal more than the Super Eagles of Nigeria.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button